Deutsch | English

Grief Counseling

The loss of a loved one can considerably strain a family and a relationship. Both the time before, during which a family member might have to be cared for, and the funeral, after which one often falls into a deep hole and has to adjust to the new life without the deceased person, can be very burdening. Especially traumatic for the whole family is the loss of a child.

Everybody handles death and dying differently and there is often not enough time for the necessary grief work. It can be very helpful to have a person who understands you, listens to you and accompanies you through the grieving process, whether you decide to engage the services of a grief counselor as a couple or as a family.

During the grieving process people pass through five phases and it is important to give each step of the process enough time.

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

The grief which is unleashed by loss and death, cannot be coped with alone. It is necessary to receive support from other people who help to process the pain through emotional processes and time. Only when you grieve you can let go. A person who does not grieve, prepares a depression. Grieving means saying goodbye, experience and process the emotions, face the pain in order to be able to let go in the course of time. Phases of pain, grief, and loss always contain the chance for personal growth and the positive way of dealing with death leads us back into life.